What Are You Thinking?

Dysfunctional Literacy

One part of the brain is for reading books.  Another is for watching football.  Another is for writing.  And one last section is for making excuses for when you're not paying attention. (image via Wikimedia) One part of the brain is for reading books. Another is for watching football. Another is for writing. And one last section is for making excuses when you’re not paying attention. (image via Wikimedia)

Today my wife asked me, “What are you thinking?”

There is usually no good answer to this question. Years ago, I heard a comedian say that when his girlfriend asked him what he was thinking, he responded with: “If I wanted you to know what I was thinking, I’d be talking.” The audience laughed, but even as I laughed too, I knew responding that way was a bad idea (unless a guy doesn’t care about his girlfriend).

Women sometimes ask “What are you thinking?” during quiet moments, but women might not really want to know what a man is thinking. If guys answered honestly about what they were thinking, the women asking the question would likely…

View original post 649 more words

Leave a Reply

